sharing info/reviews on schools near viman nagar,kharadi,hadapsar,nibm

168 replies, Page 3

jules25 2013-10-22 17:51:10

 

Hi everyone
This is a very good forum
I have a daughter 2010 august born.Currently she goes to nursery at a nearby playschool.We stay at magarpatta.Even I am really confused with the age criteria in schools,it differs with each school.They should follow same age policy atleast with schools of same board.
For instance in :magarpatta school,  age: 3 1/2 -- 4 1/2  junior kg/lower kg(lkg)(ICSE board)
                         bishops co-ed kalyani nagar:age is 4-4.11 for jkg/lkg(ICSE board)
                         dps  nursery age:3 1/2-4 1/2(CBSE board)

now I am really confused with this age .Should she repeat nursery again?
Guys,whats your opinion of amanora school,st helenas school
 

laxmikant 2013-10-22 19:13:26

 


Thanks AashP,

You mention about deposit twice once as refundable and once as non refundable so got confused.

Would you please provide some thoughts / feedback about Vikhe Patil Lohegoan?

 

aks09 2013-10-22 22:58:21

 

@julees25
Helenas is all girls...traditional convent school...overcrowded...mixed response for this school...they follow age old traditional methods f teaching..ur daughter i think is eligible for LKG..last year eligibility was jan -dec 2009 born ..

As ur daughter is Aug born she will be eligible i guess for LKG in both CBSE n ICSE boards..
CBSE boards usually take oct -sep born ..,,DPS ,St Arnolds follow this..bt sme schools relax their norms...

Hope this info helps...:)
 


AashP 2013-10-23 13:10:26

 

Ooopss you are correct i mixed up...Good catch...! Its refundable deposit of 40k..!
Vikhe Patil, Lohgaon...I don't have much feedback about it. Want to know about that school and also Kendriya Vidyalaya, 9BRD, Chandan Nagar. Both are CBSE schools.
 

positivemom 2013-10-23 16:48:32

 

Kendriya Vidhyalaya 9 BRD is a good school in terms of the overall development of the kid. Good academics, excellent focus on sports and extra curricular activities. Fees is very very less bacause it is mainly intended for kids of defence personnels (Kids of Civilians would be admitted only in case there are a few unfilled seats ) . Before deciding on this school you should be convinced that you are absolutely OK with sending your kid with lower middle class / middle class family kids. English is a concern in this school as most of the kids come from the Hindi speaking backgroup and most of them communicate in Hindi ( even most of the teachers). 
 

AashP 2013-10-23 18:53:22

 

Thanks for your feedback positivemom...! Looks like it cannot be neglected too.
Actually, my wife's friend's daughter is studying in that school for many years now. And she had no compliants. We specifically asked her about the English speaking aspect and she said that everything happens in english.
Probably, need to visit her and speak to her child. :-)
 

aks09 2013-10-23 19:07:43

 

@Aashp
9 BRD KV  classes are from std1...if ur trying  there will b entrance exam...bt school has posted grt results...bt dnt knw how much percent civilians get...it is  considered to be good  one among rest of KV s around viman nagar..i too heard english is a concern ...do chck with ur wifes friend and let us know...the review from positivemom is rite.,i too got similar feedback...bt  heard tht in KV education is free for the girl child..dnt knw hw far i m correct..
 


jules25 2013-10-24 07:32:16

 

@aks09
thanks for reply.
My daughter is 2010 born,so she wont be eligible for lkg in dps.,for bishops also she wont be eligible,cause by next year june she wont be 4years
 

positivemom 2013-10-24 10:21:23

 

@aks09,

No .. the education is not free for girls in KVs. The fees is same.
 

aks09 2013-10-24 10:59:58

 

@jules25
 Either f us is goofing up..DPS is taking kid 1oct 2009 -sep 30 2010...ur daughter is eligible..do chck the site..

Bishops  also think she is eligible..chck last year age criteria..

Sme schools junior kg  is referred as Nursery..n senior kg  is referred as preparatory..like in st marys,DPS...


 

aks09 2013-10-24 11:02:04

 

@positivemom
Thanks for confirming...i was nt sure..:)
 

flowerpower 2013-10-24 14:23:50

 

@ashP: did you visit aman setu?what are  your views. I had got an appt with the principal but since the they mentioned my daughter is eligible next yr i plan to visit them later. Pls share your views.
 

jules25 2013-10-24 15:09:47

 

@aks09i didnt know that in some schools junior kg is referred as nursery,thanks for that information.i checked bishops site and this is what i saw:Age Limit...The normal age groups for admission to the various classes are as follows:Nursery (Kalyaninagar & Undri)3 yearsto3.11 years
Lower KG4 yearsto4.11 years  
and in dps site this is whats written:Age Criteria (As on March 31, 2014)Nurserybetween 3½ to 4½ Yearsborn between 1st October, 2009 and 30th September, 2010Class Ibetween 5½ to 6½ Yearsborn between 1st October, 2007 and 30th September, 2008
 

AashP 2013-10-24 15:47:09

 

flowerpower - pls refer the earlier threads in this discussion. you shud be able to read my views abt Aman Setu.
 

suprmom 2013-10-25 00:03:15

 

Visited 2 schools till now. My daughter is Nov 2010 born.I have few criteria for selection and wanted to share my feedabck about schools that I have visisted. STRONGLY encourage everyone to share their feedback too..we are all in this together!
A: Infra - should be good. say like Orbis/MP CityB: Communication should be in EnglishC: Parent teach ratioD: Style of education(modern vs traditional)E: Would prefer IT crowd(read between the lines)
1: Billabong International, Ngr road. - I am more inclined towards bigger infrastructure and the infrastructure of this school is not big - say compared to Orbis or MP City school. Classroom is AC - I dont want my child to be sitting in ac every day. When will they take fresh air? If you are fine with both aspects, then the school looks good. Likes the counsellor passion for showing me around and answering questions. Wish them the best!
2: Orbis. Now that's a school for which your child wouldnt have to go anywhere else for a joy ride. The road to the school from the main road is well..err..ok, doesn't matter ;-). LIked the infra - HUGE!? Nurery rooms are very small though and did not look well ventliated. No scope for direct sunshine. Parent-teacher ration is 1:40. D - dont know too much. E - I think from the look of it I saw IT crowd.
Will keep sharing more views as I keep visiting more schools! Any idea how is Victorious Kids? 
 

Shiv07 2013-10-25 00:23:33

 

After reading all ur posts, I have something to add....I know kids who go to Bishops n Mary's n some of the reputed schools n their mode of communication with friends is mostly in 'HINDI'!!!! So whether u like it or not, bcoz of a few kids even ur kid will start speaking the language n believe me its totally the 'tapori' type that they use!!! Kids r corrected by teachers if their in school, but once out, they speak the language they're most comfortable in.

Age criteria is again a thorn that's poking everyone....it is sad that some kids have to repeat what they already know n then that becomes regressive rather than progressive. But if you go to see, in the long run these kids r brighter n way ahead of their peers (this is my opinion) each child is unique n their capacity varies.

@ suprmom...Victorious Kids is an IB school with fees varying from 1.25 to 2 lacs per yr. If you're fine with that, go check the school out...I've heard they have a huge campus to boast about n very good infrastructure n their founder has major plans for the future.Hope this helps.

Best of luck to all the parents....as we come to that part of the year again where we have to decide what's best for our lil ones!!!
 

suprmom 2013-10-25 00:55:08

 

I will be visiting it this/next week. Will share findings soon! Is there a way that all of us can have a group chat on FB? We can keep sharing tips here, but the need to get/share real-time info is high as we are now nearing that time of the year when the decision we take now will be possibly a life-altering one..
 

AashP 2013-10-25 14:31:43

 

suprmom - Hey thanks for sharing your criteria for school selection and also info about Orbis & Billabong. I agree with your observations.
Based on my review of schools so far, Podar International School, Wagholi which is still in its 1st year of operations looks very promising and really fits into all the requirement criteria.
The only uncomfortable thing is their Parent teacher ratio in higher classes (1-7) 1:40/45. What do you all think, is this okay?
And rest of their infrastructure like more classes, playground, canteen, CBSE affiliation, etc. is still Work in Progress.
Appoach road is full of Potholes, very bumpy road.
Positives are :- 1) Experienced & Reputed institution running 67 schools of which there are 5 in Pune. Strong Administration.
2) IT Enabled classrooms
3) In house academic group which specifically looks at curriculum and keeps on updating it each year for juior classes.
4) More avenues for maintaining quality Teachers by Training and upgradation at other older/experienced Podar schools, Best Preactice Sharing etc.
5) No Capitation Fees charged.
6) 6 day school with each saturday dedicated to one activity and one sport only.
7) Special Intranet for Parents to communicate with School / teachers. Teachers numbers also shared with parents.
8) CBSE pattern coupled with other best approaches to education.
9) Long term bet.
10) Good Water Supply Facility and good backup for electricity supply.
Pls check this point for all schools in Wagholi as power outage and water short supply is common there.

Please keep sharing.
Regards
AashP



 

kparkhe 2013-10-26 10:03:00

 

How is Lexicon Kalyaninagar shool
 


Shiv07 2013-10-27 16:20:05

 

AashP...your observations about Billabong are spot on....barring the approach road all other factors are pretty good. As you said, it's a reputed school with a brand presence in the state. Overall development for kids in every aspect and seeing that the teaching methods/ curriculum is constantly upgraded. The ratio of student: teachers in higher classes is not a concern, as it is much better than 1:60/65!!!

In my opinion this school definitely deserves a thumbs up...All the best n keep us posted.
 

AashP 2013-10-28 14:26:00

 

Shiv07 - Thanks! I'm sure you meant....My views about Podar International School, Wagholi. Looks like you inadvertently mentioned Billabong.
 

Shiv07 2013-10-28 16:16:46

 

ooops....yes I meant Podar International School, Wagholi. Have you made up ur mind yet....most of the schools will start their admission procedure by the 1st week of Nov.
 

AashP 2013-10-28 18:23:59

 

Yes, I think I've made up my mind now...! How about you?
 

aks09 2013-10-30 16:46:01

 

St Helenas will open for admission in 3rd week of november..keep checking sakaal times Newspaper..they usually place an ad here..
 

flowerpower 2013-11-11 15:21:09

 

yup i called st helena today and they mentioned admission  process starts on 25th Nov. Keep a look out in the newspapers. all the best to all of us trying out this school.

Aashp: good review of aman setu. point you mentioned does make sense. Poddar was a famous school in bbay when i was growing up there and i too would like to see how it fares here. Since my daughter is in prenursery i still have a few yrs before it gets ready and then i wouldnt mind trying for poddar. So everyone what are your preferences?

Mine for prenursery this yr are: st marys, st helenas

If daughter does not get through next year will try for nursery again in  above mentioned schools and bishops. 

I wanna find out more info about pawar public school and magarpatta school. Anybody visit? or know any reviews?

also a tip: pls take madhurie singhs review only as a tip as after all only we are the best judges of what school is good for us as everyones criterias are different.

Pls keep posting views and reviews and keep this post active. I shall to during the admission process.

My best wishes to all for this admission  season. :)


 

Akshaj26 2013-11-11 16:06:07

 

Hi parents. Plz let me know when the process of school admission and form filling will start for 2014-15. My kid will be 5 yrs in july 15.
 

nkhosla 2013-11-11 16:43:39

 

Does anyone provide some feedback on Lexican International school , Kalyaninagar
 

baloon 2013-11-11 17:18:23

 

Hi Flowerpower, I also called at Helenas school. they told process will start after 20th nov
I called Magarpatta school today. they told to check website. but these school generally gives preferrence to magarpatta residents. My child is nov-2010 born. in some schools like bishops she will be eligible for nursery and in some schools she will be eligible for LKG.
LETS SEE.
Do u know hutchings age crieteria.
Please keep posting admission dates , as soon as anybody knows.
 

 

All Rights Reserved Copyright © 2008-2021 Parentree