Primrose school, Injambakkam reviews

57 replies, Page 2

R1Ma 2015-07-29 23:53:46

 

I paid 10k n took admission. But then she got through NPS perumbakkam. And m very happy with the school. Yes fees is on the higher side, but till now it has been a wonderful experience for my child. Monthly uodates of what being taught in school, very less homework. That also they are able to finish in their own. They make them practice well in class in a playful way so that the child can understand. Even my daughter's handwriting has improved. She is Lkg right now.
 

60kmph 2015-07-31 08:48:02

 

Rakkini,
Unlike CBSE syllabus, whose books are standardized for all schools and you can download the prescribed textbook online, ICSE textbooks are dependent on the school. Primrose is ICSE and decides its own textbooks. So we dont know the syllabus, just have to wait for the books for each term. Transport is between 4-5K per term. The roads and traffic in that area is good and not like the congested 8AM traffic in most areas.
 

Raghav03 2017-01-29 02:09:57

 

Hi @R1Ma, Please clarify if your child is studying in primerose or NPS?.
 


R1Ma 2017-01-29 10:04:03

 

My daughter is studying in NPSI. I didn't put her in primerose.
 

Raghav03 2017-01-29 11:12:39

 

Thanks you sir.
 

123rexiprakash 2017-01-29 12:24:31

 

Hi all,
I am planning to join in primrose. Kindly pour ur reviews 

 

Pamchuu 2017-02-03 19:12:20

 

Hi my kid cleared entrance for 1st grade in primrose. Meeting principal next week to finalise admission. Pls share feedback here parents who are already sendin theit kids here. How are the primary teachers. We have relocated from US this yr and its first time in Indian school for my kid. Do they really use smart board for 1st grade class rooms? Are they very strict? The schoolis 12 km from my house.
 


R1Ma 2017-02-03 22:28:15

 

To tell the truth, when I visited the school in 2015 didn't like the school much. Smart board and everything is ok, that more or less every school is having now. We visited the school during the lunch time. The rule of the school is that the kids should sit down on the dirty floor,that too, the corridor floor and have their snack and lunch. That, I found, really unhygienic. Where we are trying hard to teach our children table manners, here they are following something else. Even a simple Montessori school provides those small low tables for the kids to have their food. The teachers behaviour towards the students were atrociously bad, at least, that is what I noticed during my one hour visit inside the school premises. The teachers didn't notice us. First we went to grade 1. Really cramp classrooms. Kids were rolling on the floor and a young teacher single handedly shouting and screaming at the kids. This is really not the way I expected. Then as we moved towards the teachers common room, I was shocked to notice the teacher raising her hand on the child. And the moment she noticed us she stopped and started smiling at the child and acted as if she is explaining something to him And there were some other petty issues which added to our discomfort towards the school. Inspite of paying 10,000 to the school as registration fee, we simply said no right there.
 

R1Ma 2017-02-03 22:31:25

 

Here in her present school also teachers scold the kids but they are very firm in their speech. At least not misbehaving with the kids and setting wrong examples. The teachers handle kids really well here.
 

Pamchuu 2017-02-04 00:57:21

 

Its ok to sit on floor and eat lunch. In fact thats the best position to eat food instead of western table manners. Btw, i am surprised how you were allowed school tour when classrooms were in session. For us, they asked us to come tour classroom after school hours only. Atleast from admission perspective the staff was very welcoming but NPS staff appeared bit tough when we visited the lobby. I also visited primrose toilets, they are very well majntained, completely clean compared to some of the schools wHere its stinking. For someone who relocated from abroad toilets ckeanliness is important. Their admission procedure is very quick and not test parents nerves by waitimes, but i heard NPS and some other schools delay the results and m friends chose other schools due to wait time.
 

Pamchuu 2017-02-04 00:59:48

 

Anyone enrolled in primrose ECR for first grade?
 

60kmph 2017-02-13 13:28:58

 

Pamchuu,
Primrose is really good, my daughter is currently doing her UKG there. We too moved from the states 2 years back. I was initially going after the high-ticket fancy schools avoiding the CBSE/ICSE path but we were pleasantly surprised by the care and devotion of the teachers at Primrose. They were incredibly patient with kids, give them opportunities of every kind, and pay individual attention which is rare in traditional ICSE/CBSE schools. The homework is slightly on the higher side I felt, but they do slowdown and revise the materials if kids are not picking up. Teachers are readily approachable which is what I liked - if your child is not feeling well, you will get a call soon from the office. I also liked the school location which is less crowded more like US instead of being congested like mainstream chennai. (You can check my other reviews, I usually give harsh reviews to schools when they deserve it). 12Km is a bit far for a child if you plan to use school transport since your kid might get picked up really early - say before 7.15am.

R1Ma,
I do remember your posts couple years back. The incident you mentioned is shocking. Probably the teacher you mentioned no longer works there because we interacted with almost all of the teachers from KG to 2nd and found nearly all of them very patient and caring.

Oh yes, we too disliked the floor system which is followed in LKG and UKG - my kid took a while to adjust. However they do get benches from Class 1 onwards.
 

Raghav03 2017-02-13 16:19:06

 

hi 60kmph sir,
I have almost finalized to admit my kid 
into prekg in primrose.
The only concern is the strength of the class. Though the counselor and principal said it will be 15 to 20 only. I saw the number is high close to forty. Few big classes also there to accommodate this number.
Please share your feedback on this.
Also please help us to know how they are doing in helping pre.kg kids to start communicating and writing.
And how good they are in choosing the syllabus required for ICSE.



 

60kmph 2017-02-13 18:29:04

 

Hi Raghav03,
I do not experience with pre-KG in primrose as my kids went straight to KG. Maybe you can go to their Facebook page and look for parents whose kids went to pre-KG. The care for LKG was very good - 2 teachers for 30 kids, so you can expect similar care for pre-KG. But it is always best to verify.

They do encourage kids to interact. In LKG, they were very satisfied with my daughter's skills but reduced her grades for less interaction with kids, so they do focus on communication. The syllabus and teaching is good, no complaints. I just hope they keep the fees reasonable each year :)


 

Raghav03 2017-02-13 18:58:49

 

Thank you, 60kmph sir.
 

Pamchuu 2017-02-14 00:50:22

 

Hi 60kmph, we finally enrolled our kid in Primrose for first grade. Ur kid n mine will be in same grade then. Hoping for the best.
 

60kmph 2017-02-15 20:53:56

 

Hope your kid enjoys the school Pamchuu. Only thing to add is - make sure you are comfortable with your home's distance from school. Last 2 years, quite a few times the school was called off middle of the day due to rains/political disturbance so they send us an SMS to collect the kids IMMEDIATELY. Since we are within 2km, we managed to get them home quickly. They do keep the kids safe and give them snacks until parents arrived. Saying this because ECR is politically very active area. Also daily assembly starts by 8.05am so school bus picks them up pretty early too.

 

Raghav03 2017-02-15 23:15:07

 

hello 60kmph sir,
You have already helped us with your inputs so we are going to block the seat by this Saturday. I have couple more questions, hope you can help us.
1. How good are they in improving English writing and speaking. Are they teaching phonics way of learning? Are you okay with your kid English speaking after completing two years in primrose.
2. I have started seeing for rental houses nearby but no luck so far. Not much apartment also. Is that very difficult to get a good house for rent below 15,000.

 

Pamchuu 2017-02-16 08:54:11

 

We saw first grade calss rooms only and they had desks to seat 20 to 24 kids only in each. Not sure about other grades.
 


Pamchuu 2017-02-16 09:01:56

 

Thanks 60kmph. Yes its atound 10 to 12kms. It takes 15 to 20 mins w/o traffic and i guess 30 mins in traffic. We have not yet decided about bus. But curious tp know if the bus fee is bit on high side or normal for schools. They said 12k plus for one semester for bus, which comes to 36k+ per annum. Including the bus fee, the overall fee is same as any international board school fees. Also, can you pls tell me if they use smart boards in first grade classes also?
 

60kmph 2017-02-16 13:31:44

 

Raghav03 sir,

1. English is used and stressed by all teachers(except tamil) there. My kid was already fluent with English so I cannot answer your question. She didnt go through phonics, she suddenly picked up reading by age 2. They don't use phonics I think. But they do encourage reading and have library. There is an excellent lending library on Kottivakkam called Bookbank, there you will get excellent books for small age children for very low price.
2. I dont know about apartments on left side(towards MGM). On right side(towards thiruvanmiyur), you will get for under 15K depending on how interior you go from ECR. My exp with apts(I only searched left side of ECR, not the beach side)

Sholinganallur - its crowded but lots of apartments there.
Injambakkam - Anna enclave - very congested. Hanuman Colony - congested, may get inside.
Basera to Vettuvankeni - LESS apartments but locality is very nice. Close to 15K.
Vettuvankeni - Deeply congested area, I didnt like
Neelangarai - Can find couple of good apartments, search beach side also.
If you dont get in these areas, look in Palavakkam/Kottivakkam - just do good research on rental sites. I got from Olx.

 

60kmph 2017-02-16 13:44:27

 

Pamchu, bus fees is definitely on higher side, they don't pro-rate on distance I think. We are not availing school transport. Smartboard is definitely there for ukg, not sure how much they use in Class 1, since they have plenty of writing work by that age. For alternative method of learning, they give all children an ixl.com account for assignments. If interested parents can prepare their kids for the talent tests at www.sofworld.org. I'm ok with it because I feel ICSE kids spend less hours writing/drawing compared to CBSE kids at their age.
 

Raghav03 2017-02-16 13:49:12

 

Thank you , 60kmph sir for your inputs.
 

sudhapriya1 2017-02-17 18:57:20

 

Hi ragav..u got admission in primrose? Im looking for lkg admission for my kid..
 

Raghav03 2017-02-17 23:28:33

 

I haven't yet as there is a chance for me to relocate to another city.
There are couple of concerns from my side 1. Class rooms till UKG and children's sitting in floor and 2. Not sure how they improve the English communication - checked with prekg completing student and not completely satisfied.
But other aspects are really good such as helper for kids, extra curricular activities (good sports and fine arts also), teaching etc..
 

sudhapriya1 2017-02-18 08:32:12

 

Hi thanks Raghav..im also thinking the same..AC class room but kids have to sit in the floor.
 

Ramya16 2017-05-05 10:55:52

 

Hello
i am looking for year 5 admission for my daughter in primrose, kindly let me know is it good to put her in that school in this age
 

ashmi2411 2018-01-21 08:27:39

 

Hi, We are planning to join my kid in primrose for pre-kg. Any reviews??
 

 

All Rights Reserved Copyright © 2008-2021 Parentree