Ashram School - Reviews required

27 replies, Page 1

PremaSathya 2012-11-20 15:10:27

 

Hi All

I have planned to put my daughter in Ashram ICSE sysllabus . for PreKG for the academic year 2013-2014.

Can you all share reviews about the school, the fees structure and other details to my mail id - prema.sathya72@gmail.com or in this forum also

 


Sadhaya 2013-01-02 12:16:04

 

 Dear Parents,

Am plng for I std admission for my son. Can anyone throw light on the school?

 

sonsmom 2013-01-31 13:25:07

 

Dear Prema / Sadhaya,

Both of u if u have an option. dont send him to this school. My kid studies there and i think this is the worst ever school to put ur kid into.

 

Sadhaya 2013-01-31 15:36:01

 

@sonsmom - can you ps elaborate? i heard the focus is for cultural activities than acads. how far is it true? any other problem in the school?

 


preithig 2013-01-31 15:58:36

 

it is a good school. One of my relatives kid is studying there in ICSE. Its not true that the focus is more on cultural than acads.  But if you want your kid (in LKG -UKG) to write and do homework, then don't put there. THey dont pressurise the kid and writing starts only iin UKG. It is one of the very rare schools that treat kids/parents with humanity and not as a race horse. I wanted to put my kid there, but sadly couldnt do so as we are in adyar and we dont want her to travel in the traffic.

I believe the fees is <30K and there is no donation

 

sonsmom 2013-01-31 17:10:44

 

 there is nothing in cultural there coz they have no teachers to take these classes. it is one thing to allot these classes, but nobody turns up in these classes and kids sit free viling there time. half of the teachers cant speak english. they give instructions in class in tamil. even when i have spoken to them, they have responded to me in tamil. the school is totally tamil driven culture. teachers make fun of kids who cant speak or understand tamil. i can tell you at 7 teachers who cant speak english. how can a maths, games, music, etc teachers fully speak tamil in class. wat will children understand. my son's english has deterioted in this 6 months. they have no sports day, no annual day, not a single field trip this year. wat overall development are we talking about???? all rejects from other schools join here i think.

 

sonsmom 2013-01-31 17:13:51

 

 also when we say they dont pressurise kids thats coz they are very short of teachers and all teachers are taking all subjects and they are too stressed to work on kids. no pressure is actually equal to no effort from teachers

 

preithig 2013-01-31 17:58:37

 

@sonsmom:I am so sorry to hear that.

The review I put is what i got from my relative. She is very much satisfied with the school and dont want to change it. The girl is in 2nd std now. She says that they have classes for yoga/dance/sports/music etc daily. One thing is till now they have not given uniforms for 2012 academic. I even know of parents who took their kid from Ashram and put in Arsha Vidyamandir coz there is no writing and homework

Also she says the slow learner in the girls class is given special attention and the teacher actually sits with the kid to make sure that the kid copies the days notes which i feel is good. Also the one section of the 5th std is shifted to ground floor (all the other sections are in 2nd floor) , coz one of the kid uses a walker to walk. Not many schools in the area or even chennai may take the effort to do that (I personally know of a school in chennai which put all the average and below average students in a separate section).

There are many good schools in Chennai (including vidyamandir - that doesnt have any exams till 5th ). These schools in adyar which Iam aware of,  make the children speak in english only till 5th or 6th after that they start talking in the regional language and the staff don't mind.  One school i noted where all the kids speak in english is Meena muthiah matric in Adyar. I visited the school twice and thats what i heard around me.

Again, the good school or bad school depends on the parents perspective. If you want your kid to do writing / homework / exams in smaller classes itself, then you have to choose the school for that.  I dont think there is any school which makes the kid excell in academics and extra co-activitie. You want to visit the school and talk to the staff a few times before putting  your kid there

 


sonsmom 2013-02-06 12:46:52

 

 they do have music/arts/sports everyday. but wat is the use if teachers dont turn up. kids sit free in these periods. in last one year 5 brainbay / 2 english / 2 evs / 2 science / 2 maths / 3 games teachers have changed. and the current office assistant is 18th. every 15 days office staff changes. 

i also put my kid in school thinking they have so many extra curricular activities. believe me there are none coz there are no teachers to take these activities. for eg they have english cursive writing period. the session is going to finish, but kids are yet to see that teacher. till date nobody turns up in that period. same is applicable for vedic heritage, music and dance. 

absentism is one more problem. all teachers at least take 1-2 holidays every week. naturally kids will love school as they are going there only to vile off time. 

talking abt slow learner girl. they have 2-3 sp kids in other classes also. see how they are treated. the principal and teachers thrash them. that girl is taken care off coz she comes by a strong contact. i saw one day a principal pushing a adhd kid and her mother out of her office. who does physical pushing out. the principal doesnt have any ettiquets of principal. one day on the main school gate she was pushing the maid out of school. wat kind of manners will such a school teach ur kid??

 

 

preithig 2013-02-06 13:53:14

 

@sonsmom - are you talking about the ICSE school in Anandavana? If thats the case, i am happy that i dint put my kid there

 

sonsmom 2013-02-06 15:19:02

 

 nope about ashram icse nanda campus

 

sonsmom 2013-02-06 15:19:44

 

 at velachery high road

 

Sadhaya 2013-03-26 14:39:16

 

 Hi all,

First thanks to all for giving your opinion in the forum. After trying in couple of schools, have put my son in Ashram ICSE for I std. Though awaiting the new academic year turns out to be fulfilling the promises they have made, am wondering, as parents, can we form an association and represent our concerns to the school so that things go forward. After all, any school comes with plus and minus, its totally parents' view and students' adpatability to the school. Our kid's growth is a joint venture from our side as well as teacher's side. just need you ideas on this; we can take it up constructively once the school reopens.

 

Sathya292 2013-03-27 13:18:35

 

Congratz Sadhaya.. nice to hear that you have got thru in Ashram..

 

Sadhaya 2013-03-28 08:26:15

 

 @sathya finally settled wth one school.what abt u?

 

roopanmom 2013-05-14 16:22:38

 

Hi Sadhaya/ PremaSathya,

 

I am new to this forum and joined only after seeing your communication about ashram school. I have joined my son in lkg in anandhavana icsi campus for this year. Hopefully he ll start his schooling from june'13. Could you please through your views about this school more like from what source did u get it. I am also ready to join if any associations are to be started.

 

Hi sonsmom,

Read all your views and bit worried. Did you get any chance to talk to the teachers there?

 

roopanmom 2013-05-14 16:29:46

 

Please give me your contact ids.. mine is manimekalai.u@gmail.com

 

sonsmom 2013-06-07 16:28:52

 

 hi roopanmom- I have spoken to everyone possible. Teachers,  principal,  management. It's a futile exercise and wastage of your emotions and ideas. Basically management not interested in school anymore. 

 

mekala4roopan 2013-06-10 12:21:12

 

Thanks for your reply . Feel very bad :(

 

Sita 2014-04-02 12:33:29

 

Am reading some very negative and some positive reviews in this thread that went silent 9 months ago.
Can someone now tell me how the ICSE school functions?
I see they do not have much space in the ICSE campus. How is the coaching in the school? how are the extra curricular activities in the school. Kindly give me quick reviews that will help me in my decision. Thanks!
 


bkr84 2014-04-03 14:52:45

 

@sonsmom,

U are continuing in the same school this year too?

 

sonsmom 2014-04-03 18:50:01

 

Nope I am not. I have changed the school. I will be torchuring my boy if I would've continued in this school. 
 

Sita 2014-04-04 16:07:08

 

@sonsmom - which school did you opt for now?
 

rum6 2014-12-09 22:26:09

 

Hi, Iam have a thought of sending my Daughter to Ashram for UKG . Can somebody throw light on admission procedure, fee structure including donation. Sadhaya awaiting your reply. Thank you in advance.
 

pavisfather 2015-05-12 16:42:41

 

My kid studying in The Ashram ICSE School and got promoted to 2nd. Any parents who thinks great about school and planning to put your kid in this school, kindly change your opinion. Or you may suffer like me. I have changed my child from one of the leading schools in chennai to this school because of distance last year. This is one of the worst school I ever come across. Its true. 
 

revusha 2016-01-22 12:02:11

 

Hi my mail id rev_athy2004@yahoo.com, can you have discussion about Ashram school higher classes? area is very small i think. can you tell me
 

schoolhunt123 2017-08-27 02:14:16

 

totally agree.
 

 

All Rights Reserved Copyright © 2008-2020 Parentree