Schools Reviews needed for Returning Indians

28 replies, Page 1

Subbub 2010-08-27 22:20:23

 

 

We have been trying very hard to get  reviews about schools in BLR. We will be returning to BLR (from US) in couple of years and Kids will be 10 and 6 by then. We would like to know some good schools that cater the needs of kids returning from abroad. We will be living closer to the schools so location (with in BLR!!) is not a priority. Some of our priorities ·          Kids should receive over all education i.e. balances both academics and co-curricular activities. ·          Kids should learn with out any pressure and understand what they are learning ·          Kids school should have a good blend of kids in different economic levels ·          Kids to teacher ratio not greater than 1:25 ·          Definitely not a PURE INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL   ·          Friendly Teachers and good atmosphere Few schools we could find from the internet are PSBB LA, RishiValley, Gear International etc., not sure if they will cater our needs. We would really appreciate if you parents could share some of your personal views/reviews about the schools you think might fit in the mentioned needs. Please mention the School and Grades you kids are studying as well.   Cheers

Subbub 2010-09-01 02:08:24

 

Can some one please reply!!

 

mango_mama 2010-09-01 10:21:18

 

Yes, I totally recommend NAFL (National Academy For Learning). My daughter is currently in the 4th grade and son in the 2nd grade. Both started since K1. So we have 5 years experience with the school.

We too had moved from the U.S. and the school works very well for folks like us. It is a good blend and a great crossover school. Now I feel our kids can tackle any environment--international schools or the traditonal NPS schools thanks to NAFL. The ratio is typically  2 teachers to 25 students till K2 and after that 1 teacher to 25 students. I think on the whole teachers are very tuned to each child. The school starts off very relaxed and easy, takes its time and then must say that it has an academic bent later. The kids belong to grounded families (many are like us, business backgrounds as well, and both local and non Kannadiga families.

The campus, actiivities and sports might not be optimal but then we all do supplement with extracurricular classes for any depth in any field. Also, have had our grouses with a couple of teachers but then no world or no place is perfect.

But on the whole we totally recommend you to consider NAFL. Please let me know if you have any detailed questions and once you are in Bangalore, message me on Parentree and we can talk as well.

 

Subbub 2010-09-03 00:59:53

 

Thanks for your response. I read mixed reviews about the school teachers and fees as well. Just a little concerned with that. 

 


mango_mama 2010-09-03 11:32:18

 

Fees are close to 1 lakh i think for new students. Your fees rates depend on the year you joined. So if your child joined 5 years earlier, then they will pay lower fees than new students. And in case your child joins under the NRI quota, then they have a different scale for first 3 years i think. The first year you pay in dollars, the second year you pay a higher fees in ruppees and i think the third year or so you start paying the same as the new students paying that year for that particular class.

The teachers are as good as it gets compared to other schools in Blr. The NPS schools (NAFL, NPS etc.) the teachers get payed one of the highest in Blr is what have heard from friends who have interviewed in different schools. The teacher attrition is lower than most schools for sure. In fact, the teachers IMHO are the strong point of NAFL because the campus etc. are pretty lacking.

Definitely talk to NAFL along with other schools before making up your mind.

Good luck!

gita

 

 

 

Subbub 2010-09-04 02:06:49

 

Thanks a lot. Will keep NAFL in mind for sure. Any reviews about

1. Vidhya Shilp

2.PSBBLA

3.Prakriya

4. The Valley

5.Greenwood High - Read that the standard is not as good as before...is that true????

6. Kumarans-ICSE

7. TREAMIS

 

Please feel free to add more schools if I have missed. I read some reviews abt these schols in this website, but wanted some recent and personal feedback from parents.

Thanks.

 

Subbub 2010-09-14 02:27:09

 

Inputs please!!!

 

TS 2010-09-14 11:07:11

 

Hi

Greenwood is good,heard a good reviews from parents.

The infrastructure and facilities are good.

Even i am planning to take admission from my son for next academic year.

Teju

 


Subbub 2010-09-15 00:15:44

 

Thanks TS. When are you planning to get your admissions? Are you returning too? Can i ask how you zeroed Greenwood High? Did u visit them etc.,

 

TS 2010-09-15 11:38:17

 

Hi subbub,

I am from blore.I just started doing research for the admission for my son for LKG in 2011-12.

I visited the whitefield branch(which is basically has upto UKG),seems to be good,yet to visit the main school.Probably next week I  may go.The fee structure is similar to other schools(like deens,DPS etc),but transport is bit high(overally priced).My friends daughter goes to GH and she is happy with the teachers ,infrastructure,etc.

I am even trying for Deens academy also(ECC rd,whitefield),teachers are good,infrastructure is ok when compared to GH,but the mgmt is very rude and pathetic.

Planning to visit some more schools in and around whitefield like brigade/goplan.

Bye,

Teju

 

 

Dhosth 2010-09-15 13:32:43

 

Hi Teju,

 

I am considering Deens for my daughter for this year's admission (2011 June) into LKG. Did u gt any bad experience from the management?

Greenwood High is also pretty closer to me. How about Vibgyor r Vagdevi Gigh?


thanks in advance.
 

 

 Former member 2010-09-15 14:17:21

 

don't consider VIBGYOR, quality of teachers have gone so down this year. They can't write 1 line remarks on their term report without grammetical+ spelling  mistake + pronounce "Hach" to H,  "hem" to M etc . Just wondering who hired them as teacher ?

vibgyor doesn't pay well to teachers, few are being paid even as low as 6k, so you can think of quality there.

 

 

Dhosth 2010-09-15 16:29:07

 

Thanks SSG for the input

 

Subbub 2010-09-15 20:19:34

 

Thanks Teju for the inputs! Can I ask which grade your friend's kid go to? My daughter will go to 4th or 5th grade I think, so tring to get some idea about kids around that age group also. Please keep posted on your school research. Nothing like getting personal feed back from parents!!!

 

TS 2010-09-15 20:36:42

 

u r welcome.My friends daughter is in 1 std.She is very positive abt school.

Will keep u posted on my research

Teju

 

vinya 2010-10-06 13:48:48

 

I  am looking for admission for my kids ( Nursery and UKG). Does anyone know if Deens Academy gives admission for UKG and whats thier cut off for nursery.

Their school looked nice in thier website but the information details in website is very less compared to other schools

 

Couldn't see what sports infra structure they carry

 

Any idea on fees ?

I was considering Vibgyor High in harlur Road too but reconsidering now after seeing the review in this thread.

 

Regards

Vinaya

 

 

 

Smithasreejith 2010-10-06 14:14:14

 

Hi,

My son will turn 3 years and 4 months by next June 2011. Looking for admission in Pre - KG(Nursery) for 2011 academic year. We are considering Vibgyor High in harlur Road (HSR Extn) ,Christ Academy and Treamis. Heard Treamis is very expensive, but not upto the mark. The concern about Christ is the distance and the Teacher - student ratio (Heard its 1: 35) :-(

Most probably we will zero in for Vibgyor (1: 7 ration for Nursery), but very much concerned about the teacher attrition reviews...

Any suggestions near Electronic city???

 

 

 Former member 2010-10-06 14:55:18

 

problem with VIBGYOR is not only teacher's attrition ratio but they hire even 10+2 fail but should speak good english though she might be very bad in spelling ( can see lots of spelling/grammer mistakes) in their diary and report card. 

They don't put teacher's in pay-roll and pay as low as 6k a month, so you can imagine the quality. 

 

Smithasreejith 2010-10-06 16:49:44

 

 10+2 Fail?? Cant believe that :-o

It would be really appreciated if you could tell in details, i mean which branch and How did you come to know about that etc as we are planning to visit the school tomorrow...

E-City doesnt have good school options i feel...compared to places like HSR layout. I do not want to send the little one to a far place :-(

 

 Former member 2010-10-07 00:15:14

 

I am talking about marthalli branch but scene is same in all branches as they don't want to pay well to teachers.  They think their curricualm+books+material are good enough and they just want somebody to work on it.

I got to know this from couple of people in my apartment, there are 4-5 teachers from my apartment in same school and so far 40-50 kids r going to vibgyor high marthalli since its nearest school from my apartment and till last year school reviews were ok kind

 


RAMK 2010-10-08 17:25:13

 

hi all,

i am swathi from chennai i am looking for schools in marthalli for my son (next year 3rd std) admn i came to know abt LAWRENCE school at hsr layout can anyone guide abt this school because my son is studying tamil here and would like to know the language taught there and fees structure also asap

 

Sinnan 2010-10-11 05:01:55

 

Hi,

 

We are returning from Singapore and looking for admission for my son who will be 5+ june-11(for UKG). I have shortlisted the following schools. Any reveiws ?

1. Mitra Academy

2. Gnan Shrishti school of excellence

3. Zee school

RajKris thanks for the feedback on GSS. We are planning to visit India in the week of 24-Oct. I hope thats not too late to get the forms.

 

satsheila 2010-12-07 00:11:46

 

Pls. read my experience in NAFL with my two kids being there.

http://www.parentree.in/satsheila/journal-6194/NAFL--Bangalore-review----Not-worth-even-a-penny--.html

Thanks.

 

svsm 2016-06-04 10:01:47

 

Hello Mango-Mama,
Are you kids still in NAFL? We are planning to relocate from US. My son is in 8th grade. I was worried about learning 2 languages newly at that higher grade. How is it? How much do they have to know in the second language and third Language?


 

anuspc 2016-06-05 23:50:01

 

I'm also moving back to India next year 2017 april for my son's 5th grade. Looking for school is north Bangalore. Please help me with good schools.

svsm, when are you moving back to Bangalore?

Thanks,
Anu
 

Gudugu 2016-06-08 01:48:55

 

NAFL is losing its name big time.  Although it is probably one of the very few schools that's compatible with an NRI mindset on the West/North Bangalore, lack of sports, extra curricular activities, lack of modern amenities such as smart boards is causing many problems to the kids' parents.  It is no longer the darling of the schools on this side of the city.  The new building has encroached the space that was available for kids to play.  Eleven teachers have left school this year owing to too much of discipline imposed on the teachers. The administration is taking away all the freedom the teachers could have.  It is up to you to decide whether this school is good for you.


 

svsm 2016-06-08 22:22:34

 

Thank you Gudugu.

 

anuspc 2016-06-09 21:00:01

 

svsm, Can you call me when you get a chance so that we can exchange school information? I'm located in Phoenix, AZ 602-600-7973
 

 

All Rights Reserved Copyright © 2008-2019 Parentree