Reviews about Kumarans

20 replies, Page 1

SMAL 2012-04-18 11:35:44

 

Kindly give me reviews about Kumarans, academics, sports , individual attention. My son would be 6 this July. Could I try for std 2 next year or would he be eligible only for std 1

 



Shyvee 2012-04-20 11:33:15

 

 Hi,

If your son is turning 6 this July, then he will be eligible for std 2 next year. Admissions for std 1 are closed for 2012-13, but you may want to check again with the school, in case they have vacancies. I have heard very good things about Kumarans with respect to all the criteria you have listed above, but will know all about it first-hand from June, since my child will go to Std 1 from this year. 

Good luck with the school hunt.

Shyvee

 

Shyvee 2012-04-20 11:37:50

 

 By next year, I mean 2013-14. He is eligible for Std 1 for 2012-13

 

ksb78 2012-04-20 15:53:23

 

Hi Shyvee,

I read that your child will start Kumarans from June for Std 1...could you tell me how you got the admission..was any test conducted...where did your child complete kindergarten...when should I apply for next academic year i.e. 2013-14...i hope you will kindly help me out since we are quite desperately searching for good schools.

Thanks in advance!

 


Shyvee 2012-05-04 09:45:29

 

 Hi @ksb78,

Sorry for the late reply. I have been busy.

Admission was very smooth and hassle-free in Kumarans. The admission forms come out online on their website by December. The dates are also put up prior to that, some time in September, I think, maybe earlier. We had to fill out the forms online. There was no payment of any sort required.

They inform you by email/ sms if your application is shortlisted. Then they call the parents and the child for a face-to-face interaction, which lasts about 5 minutes. They merely ask you basic questions such as why you chose Kumarans. My daughter was asked her name and nothing else. Post the interaction, a selection list is put up, again online, perhaps about 10 days later. If the child has been selected, you will be notified again via email/sms.

If you choose to take the admission, then you will be asked to pay the fees online in February of the academic year. That's it.

I have no idea what the parameters are for selection/ shortlisting of kids. I have heard good things about the school. Looking forward to an enriching experience.

Hope this helps.

 

ksb78 2012-05-05 10:16:45

 

Thanks Shyvee for your detailed answer. I will keep an eye on their website...Thanks once again...Hope your child enjoys school and has an enriching journey through the school days!..

 

nitusanju 2012-05-06 06:26:26

 

 Hi Everyone,

I have twin daughters who are 6yr 3months old now and I am also trying for kumarans school for the next academic year 2013-14..but the thing is we are presently in US,and coming back to bangalore in feb or march 2013.So would they consider the application online and would do the admission without kids or parents present there ?If you have any information about this please give me your inputs,it will be really helpful as we are here..

regards

 

priyankasharma 2012-06-20 13:57:35

 

 HI Shyvee

How is your experience with kumarans? Are you happy with the school? Kindly suggest me as i m also planning kumarans for my son.

Thanks

 


Deepank 2012-08-23 17:09:11

 

 @Shyvee,

Could you please tell what all documents are required to fill online form?

For e.g. is scanned copy of birthday certificate, address proof or any other document is required or it is just general info that is to be filled in the form?

Thanks,

Deepank

 

binny10 2012-08-24 22:08:03

 

  Shvyee,

Where have you taken the admission in ICSE or CBSE branch? Do you have to apply separately both the branches? And do you have any idea how many seats were vacant for 1st std?

Can you tell me which place did your kid go for KG? 

I want to put my daughter in mainstream school from 1st std, but scared that I might not get admission directly in 1st std. Everybody around is suggesting to take admission from pre-nursery itself, so that getting admission will not be a hassle later on. All confused!

Thanks in advance!

 

priyankasharma 2012-08-26 16:51:53

 

 HI Binny

 

You can get all your query answer from there website. As far as i know admissions are available in 1st standard ,and you can apply in only one of the branches otherwise your application would be rejected.

PLease refer to there website

http://kumarans.org/pdf/group/2012_7_29_20_37_3_828.pdf

 

Shyvee 2012-08-27 08:42:03

 

 Hi everyone,

It has been three months since my daughter started going to Kumarans and I must say that there have been no complaints. The quality of the work done, the activities that keep them happy and the teachers are all very commendable.

@Deepank, you would need a scanned copy of the birth certificate and a scanned copy of the child's passport photo. Nothing else is required at the time of filling up the form. Watch the website closely, since the deadlines will be adhered to very strictly. If your child does not qualify due to the age factor, the website will not allow you to fill up the form. The date of birth cutoff says June 30th, but I checked with the school and they said that they take kids upto August.

@Binny,I sent my daughter to the Podar Jumbo Kids preschool for 3 years and had no difficulty getting admission into first standard. I know that a lot of people are worried about getting admission, but , in truth, many schools open up admission in two stages; once at the nursery stage and again at the first standard stage. Kumarans has both options, although the campuses are different.

 I actually applied to both ICSE and CBSE, since we were not very particular about which stream she got into. My CBSE application was accepted and the ICSE was rejected, probably because they realised that the same person had applied in both streams. There is no such rule that you cannot apply in both streams. For first standard, both ICSE and CBSE, there is only one campus, in Mallasandra. There are branches only for the Nursery sections, one at Tata Silk farm and another at Doddakallsandra.

Regarding the number of seats vacant, I am not too sure. This year, they have six sections in CBSE and 40 kids per class, but that includes students from the Kumarans nursery, siblings of kids already studying in Kumarans etc. From next year, the RTE will come into effect, which means that 25% of the seats will be reserved for the underprivileged. The seats may therefore, come down drastically.

 


Deepank 2012-09-03 17:02:37

 

  @Shyvee,

Thanks for the info about forms.

Could you please let me know how far is your house from the school?

What are the criteria for selecting the candidates?

For example, some schools follow points based system.

 

Shyvee 2012-09-06 09:40:27

 

 @Deepank

Check this link:

http://kumarans.org/cbse/Prospectus.aspx

It has details on selection criteria etc. And yes, residence location is definitely considered. I stay 4 kms from the school. When we applied, we stayed nearly 30 kms away and mentioned that in the application. We also mentioned that we would move closer to the school before it began the academic year.

 

 

Deepank 2012-09-06 13:10:27

 

 @Shyvee

Thanks for the info Shyvee.

If you don't mind could you please provide me your email id!

I am in a similar situation as was yours and I just feel that you could provide me some valuable guidance that would be helpful for my kid's future.

Thanks.

 

nansan 2012-09-10 13:36:36

 

 My daughter is 2010 December Born and i wud want her to go to Pre Nursery in Kumaran's. But the eligibility they have set is 2.11 months i have no idea what to do now? If i admit her in soem play school till 2014 where i feel 1 yr will b wasted. Im little worried Now. Any suggstions pls?...

 

pradeep78 2012-09-18 22:04:55

 

 Hi All,

Any one got call/SMS from Kumaran's ?

Pls udate 

Regards,

Pradeep

 

sun24 2012-11-05 16:44:10

 

 

 Hello All, 

We have received admission confirmation for both Kumarans  and DPS south for nursery. 

We are now confused on which one to choose - please share some insights on how you have picked the schools. We are opting for CBSE curriculum, any suggestions/advise please

Thanks

 

DEvD 2012-11-06 11:16:22

 

kumarans does not guarantee u a CBSE seat when ur child reaches 1st standard

 

They may give u ICSE also. A current parents (my friend) is now hoping his son gets CBSE . He doesnt know for sure yet

 

There are cases in my apartment where elder son is CBse while younger has been given ICSE

 

 

 

meVijay 2012-11-07 16:25:00

 

 DEvD,

My son has also got selected for the 2013-14 batch for preKg. I needed to just confirm if you are aware that if there is a seat issue then hope he is not put to the state board. 

Vijay

 

DEvD 2012-11-07 18:49:39

 

Sorry vijay. The moms I spoke to only told me about ICSE thing. her child was given ICSE

 

Also another parent is a lil worrisome because he doesnt know if his kid will be given cbse.

 

 

All Rights Reserved Copyright © 2008-2019 Parentree