Parentree Logo

SHERWOOD HALL SENIOR SECONDARY SCHOOL, Harrington Road - Reviews

54 replies, Page 1

sowmiyaa 2011-01-20 14:00:03

 

Hi All,

Would highly appreciated, if any comments or reviews (good / bad) about  the school “SHERWOOD HALL SENIOR SECONDARY SCHOOL” at Harrington Road, Chetpet

Looking for my daughter’s LKG admission in the year 2011-12.

Thanks in adv.


princeravi 2011-01-20 14:03:11

 

Hi Sowmiyaa, Are they distributing LKG forms tomorrow? any idea?

 

sowmiyaa 2011-01-20 14:39:51

 

They have started distributing LKG forms today @10 am till tomorrow 12 Noon.

But I came to know that only 150 applications they 'll issue, out of 75 kids for an admission.

I was 7th person recd application form (wen i was there @7.30am & recd form @ 10.15am). Asked us to submit on 22nd Jan'11 with xerox copy of kids Birth certificate.

No idea abt school fees etc.,

BTW, were r u put? R U trying there? if yes pl.update

Regs

 

BrillAdith 2011-01-20 14:48:14

 

Hi,

When I was researching about all schools in Chennai, I found the Sherwood school as well. I found some few blatant grammatical errors eg: "Carrier opportunities, We back to normal soon" , in few of the webpages which surprised me. Really dont know about the school, but I guess it caters to the creme-dela-creme set of people.

 

sowmiyaa 2011-01-20 15:19:06

 

@BrillAdith: You can visit d URL :  http://www.sherwoodhall.org/school.html, quite okay, only some of menus like Admission, calender, carrier opportunity etc not linked.

BTW, wat you mean by creme-dela-creme set of people - pl. explain.

 

 

princeravi 2011-01-20 15:23:35

 

Hi Sowmiyaa, i stay in Nungambakkam.. i thought of getting application from Sherwood as a backup. i'm mainly looking @ Good Sheperd school (submitted the form s'day)

 

sowmiyaa 2011-01-20 15:54:51

 

@princeravi - Hav any infle. to get a seat at Good Sheperd school. One of my friends daughter is doing 6th std. I enquired abt school, Good in all aspect, but require infleu, as her kid joined thro' infleu. All the best.

 

princeravi 2011-01-20 16:06:29

 

@sowmiyaa, i don't have any influence.. keeping my fingers crossed :-(

 

BrillAdith 2011-01-20 16:50:13

 

creme de la creme means the top notch ppl ( well off in terms of money and name in society). My head's son studied there.

 

sowmiyaa 2011-01-20 16:53:57

 

Do you mean expect more donation ???? - Though school is not much popular !!!!!!. Could u provide me some more details like fee structure, studies etc.

 

sowmiyaa 2011-01-22 10:32:43

 

Today suppose to submit applications to school. Could any one update the feedback?

 

sivathi 2011-01-23 16:27:40

 

How about Asan Memorial... (We got the admission for our daughter and fees not yet paid, waiting for Sherewood hall, but i don't know about donation & fee structures...)

 

sivathi 2011-01-23 16:53:22

 

Hi,

When is the interview at Sherwood hall?

Wheter they will call or send us the letter?

when will be the result any idea about this.?????

 

sivathi 2011-01-23 16:57:11

 

Hi,

I also heared that Sherwood hall is the best one, they teach well, Quality of Education etc.

In Sherwood hall, Apart from Donation, how will be the fees compare to other schools? It will be normal or high ???? If any Idea about this school, please share.

I am holding admission from some other schools only for Sherwood.

 

sowmiyaa 2011-01-24 14:16:06

 

@sivathi - i'm also waiting forphone call frm Sherwood. But worried abt the admission, as they have only 75 seats includes sibling quota.

Heared frm friends & blog, Sherwood fee is nominal, donation may high. Last year donation was nearly 75000/-.Not sure abt this year fee sturcutre & donation. If get any call / letter. will update.

Regs

 

 

sivathi 2011-01-24 18:38:08

 

Sure Sowmiya, i will inform you once i got the call from Sherwood Hall, but i heared they have only 70 (35 * 2) seats. Fee may little high

 

sowmiyaa 2011-02-02 11:40:55

 

Hi all,

Yes'day one of my friend received a call frm Sherwood hall school, for an interview on 03.02.2011. If any body else recieved a call - Pl. update.

When i enquired, they said currently sibling admission process alone going on. Rest will start shortly. But surprised, how come she received a call frm school !!!!

 

sivathi 2011-02-03 15:38:11

 

 Hi Sowmiyaa,

How was the interview for your friend's child? any feedback. Please update.

 

sin 2011-02-04 17:09:25

 

Hi Sowmiyaa,

Am also put up at Nungambakkam

I wish you get admission for your daughter.

Do you have any information.

75000 last year,It is somewhat on the higher side.

How much donation are they asking this year.

Are they open to negotiate on the amount they quote.

Also let me know  the fee structure for this year.

 

 

sowmiyaa 2011-02-04 17:45:59

 

@sivathi & @sin : Still i've not receive any call.

Latest news from two of my friends, whose got call from sherwood & attended the interview.

1. Interview @ kid : as usal. name, color etc.,

2. Donation : 85k - No Negotiation

3. Fee : No idea.

Anyway all the best, whose seeking admission @ sherwood hall


 

 

sin 2011-02-04 21:03:13

 

Halo Sowmiyaa,

Well said Interview is a mockery in all the schools.

They complement during the interviews but names don't appear in the result list.

It's all fishy and cooking.

Where are you put up.I guess you should get the call on Monday.I got a call today.

Please keep me posted with the developments.It's important to me too.

 

sowmiyaa 2011-02-05 10:26:59

 

@sin : All the best.

Pl. try to negotiate, even if there are nt willing. BTW hv u tried any other school.

I put up @purasai. Even if i get a call & asked me to pay 85k, i can't pay such huge amt as donation alone. wat abt fee structure? Any idea

By luckily my kid was selected in SBOA-CBSE. I'm planing for that.

@sivithi : did u receive a call?? wen did u submit ur filled form to school. i submitted on 22nd Jan'11. But still i've nt receive a call.

 

sivathi 2011-02-05 11:14:54

 

 Soumya !!!

We got the call on Thursday evening and interview was on Friday.

No questions they asked other than name, then, directly they asked 85k donation (to be paid this week) and fees to be paid only on July (27k).

They will give us call on Wednesday for confirmation (once they finished the selection list). Waiting for their call on Wednesday..

It seems Donation & Fees are high. 

+ & - are 

High Standard Education, Quality of Education, Good Communication (+)

High Donations & Fees, No strict, No Transport, Very small space (no ground), no infrastructure (no educomp smartclass) - (-)

I heard that they are not concerned about school timings for children, no strict in Uniforms & Shoes etc.

Let to decide... Whether Asan Memorial or Sherwood Hall ...

 

sivathi 2011-02-05 11:29:16

 

 Soumiya,

Yesterday, someone they came for an enquiry about the interview with their child, they also attended the interview (they didn't got the call from School). 

 

sowmiyaa 2011-02-05 12:19:08

 

@sivathi: So even if we are not receive any call, we can directly come & meet princi or wat ? So they only concentrate on Donation is it?

Wat is it mean donation to be paid immdly & Fees on July 27th. (How much fee suppose to be). Really confusing.

 

 

 

sivathi 2011-02-05 13:25:34

 

Soumiya, 

Yes you can directly go there along with your child and get your app form from the office & meet principal.

 Fees amount Rs.27000 to be paid in June (not now and July). Donation has to pay in next week after they confirm the seat on Wednesday 

In Interview, nothing they asked, directly they come for Donation only...

 

sin 2011-02-05 15:52:56

 

Helo Soumiya,

I did apply in DAV Gopalapuram.

Only 3.2 km from my house but not selected despite of 400 selections.

God Knows how it works-they don't take interviews even.

Sibling is a strong criteia everywhere.Hence no preference are given to those who have only one kid till siblings are alloted seats.Also it makes no sense in asking for exact income of parents and the caste of the kid which came 3 years back in this world.Do we have caste based reservations at this stage.Are the schools discriminatory in terms of caste of the kid.

Most of the admissions are over.I don't have a admission yet.Let me know if admissions are yet to happen in some schools which works for me from Nungambakkam.

How far is Sherwood for you in Km.I have no idea on the fees.Beyond 85k only term fees I guess.If they ask admission fee above this ! God Knows better.

30 -50 k range looks reasonable.But alost 1 lac from 1 kid is almost double of what they should expect.

But we need to appreciate that they are open in talking in money terms which other schools should also follow.Perhaps all the schools should be allowed to legally auction the seats and interviews should be banned for the kid who is yet to start a school with LKG.

 

 

sivathi 2011-02-09 15:07:19

 

 Hi Soumiya,

We got the call from Sherwood that they selected our daughter and asked us to come on next thursday to make the payment.

How about urs? any update?

 

sowmiyaa 2011-02-09 16:22:00

 

Congrats @Sivathi & @Sin.

Three of my friends kids also selected in d same sherwood school.

Thoug i've nt receive any call frm sherwood and luckily My kid selected at SBOA, Annanagar. So I planned to admit her in the same school.

Hope all of our LKG hunting tension would be solved by this month end.

 

 

 

sivathi 2011-02-09 16:45:21

 

 Soumiyaa,,

How about general opinion about Sherwood & Asan, 

We already made the payment in Asan, 

i don't know what to do....

 

 

All Rights Reserved Copyright © 2008-2014 Parentree